Rector de la Universidad Católica: Hay un enorme déficit de profesores de inglés

Analysis of 2012 National English Test - BookCoverPreview

Amazon Author Page: Thomas Jerome Baker

Rector UC: “Hay un déficit importante” de profesores de inglés

T13 AM conversó sobre educación, el acceso a la educación superior, los resultados del Simce de inglés, entre otras cosas, con Ignacio Sánchez Díaz, rector de la Universidad Católica, que cumple 125 años.

Dicha casa de estudios es además la mejor universidad del país y la segunda de Latinoamérica, según el ranking QS.

LA FORMACIÓN DE DOCENTES DE INGLÉS EN CHILE:
EL DESAFÍO DE LA CALIDAD Y LA PERTINENCIA

¿Qué aspectos críticos deben ser cautelados?

- Perfil de egresados.
- Falta de formación continua para los docentes de Inglés.
- Precariedad de práctica profesional.
- Certificación de nivel de inglés de egresados.
- Blended Learning – “Tecnofobia” Docente.
Fuente: British Council 2012

Austral - Deficit de docentes

Resultados y Reacciones Simce Inglés 2010

89% de alumnos no sabe inglés y Educación anuncia plan para potenciar su enseñanza

Fuente: CONASEP

La presidenta de la Agrupación de Profesores de Inglés y directora de la carrera de pedagogía en esta área en la U. Alberto Hurtado, Mary Jane Abrahams, explicó que no sólo hay carencia de docentes del idioma, sino que las universidades no imparten buenos programas.

“Las universidades también somos responsables de la debacle de este resultado, porque no estamos formando los docentes que el país necesita. Hay 98 carreras de pedagogía en Inglés en Chile. ¿De dónde sacaron profesores especializados para enseñar?”, sostuvo.

A lo anterior, se suma que según los datos de la Comisión Nacional de Acreditación, hay 21 de estas carreras acreditadas, y de ellas cuatro están certificadas sólo por dos años.

Para Pablo Corvalán, director del Departamento de Inglés de la U. Metropolitana de Ciencias de la Educación, la cantidad de profesores que egresan de pedagogía no es suficiente para satisfacer la necesidad de los colegios. “Hay muy pocos docentes de inglés en el país. Acá, cada vez que se titulan alumnos prácticamente andan detrás de ellos para contratarlos“, explicó y añadió que los resultados del Simce demuestran la poca importancia que ha tenido tradicionalmente esta asignatura.

No se enseña inglés en inglés. Uno visita de sorpresa los colegios y se encuentra que es mínimo el espacio que se les entrega a los alumnos para practicar el idioma”, explicó Silvina Zapata, directora de Pedagogía en Inglés de la U. Andrés Bello, al comentar otra de las deficiencias en el aprendizaje del idioma…

**
Celebrate 4th of July! Surprise a Colleague with a Paperback Book!

Second Language Acquisition: Language, Culture & Identity, For Practical Use by English Language Learners Worldwide ? ELL / ESL / EAL / EFL

“Written for new teachers, experienced teachers, parents of English Language Learners worldwide, and students from all disciplines with a need to know how students learn English in actual day to day practice. This book provides an actionable answer to the question of “How Do Students Learn English?” through the discovery method applied to case studies and actual experience, in reality.

If encountering the topic for the first time, this is a clear and practical introduction to experiential Second Language Acquisition (SLA). It shows actual students and teachers grappling with SLA issues in an interdisciplinary manner.

To do this, we “stand on the shoulders of giants” like Wittgenstein, Gass & Selinker.

Storytelling becomes the medium to illustrate SLA in action, without being heavy on explanation. This is an inductive, discovery approach to deep learning about SLA in action. How a second language is acquired; whether English, French, Yu’pik, or Mapudungun is what the second language learner needs to know; whether in the USA, Canada, Singapore, China, Chile or any other location worldwide, we all need to find relevant answers to know why some learners are more successful than others. The book introduces in a warm, friendly, first-person, engaging fashion a range of fundamental concepts – such as SLA in adults and children, in formal and informal learning contexts, and in diverse sociocultural settings – and takes (in the tradition of Gass & Selinker) an interdisciplinary approach, encouraging students to consider SLA from linguistic, psychological, and social perspectives.” Second Language Acquisition: This book is designed to inspire readers to reach for their dreams in language learning. Buy this book. Read it. Share it with everyone you know. You – and they – will be glad you did!

About these ads

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Education Technology, EFL and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s