Second Language Acquisition: Language, Culture & Identity, for English Language Learners Worldwide – ELL / ESL / EAL / EFL [Kindle Edition]

A book for everyone on Second Language Acquisition: Important For Everyone in our Bilingual World

Second Language Acquisition: Language, Culture & Identity is a book which all learners, all students of all disciplines and all careers, and of course, worldwide, all teachers, not only teachers of English Language Learners (ELL), or English as a Foreign Language (EFL), or English as a Second Language (ESL), or English as an Additional Language (EAL), but rather it is for all teachers, of all subject areas, new and experienced, who should have a copy of this book in their peronal resource library.

Why?

We live in a world in which most people are bilingual, multicultural, and international-minded. In a globalized world, two languages is an indispensable capacity for those who wish to enjoy the benefits of globalisation, of communicating with people from different cultures, with different languages, and markedly different personal identity patterns.

Therefore, we can say that gone are the days when it was just enough to know one language. According to François Grosjean, Ph.D., Emeritus Professor of psycholinguistics at the University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland, “It has been estimated that probably more than half of the world’s population is bilingual; that is, it uses two or more languages (or dialects) in everyday life.”

Whether for business or pleasure, for education or travel, for war or peace, knowledge of a second language, its culture, and how its people attempt to maintain their own heritage language, while making use of the English language, is increasingly an essential 21st century skill, the basic knowledge that we have of one another, and how it is constructed.

This book is not a textbook, in the sense of a course in Second Language Acquisition. SLA is a complex, interdisciplinary field. What this book does is accompany any course on Second Language Acquisition, providing the voices and the experiences of those who must acquire a second language. Therefore, the book provides opportunity for deep learning of the fundamentals of Second Language Acquisition, from a multicultural, multiethnic, and multilingual, interdisciplinary perspective.

The best thing: All weekend long, today and tomorrow, Saturday and Sunday, this book is absolutely FREE!

Let me repeat: FREE. You don’t have to pay anything, until Monday. Download to your Kindle reader device today, free.

Finally, I have one small request, just a small favor I would like to ask from you. . Would you please write a Customer Review ?

A Customer Review helps the book to get more attention, if you believe it truly deserves more attention from other readers. If you have enjoyed this book, then I ask you to take a few minutes of your time to share your thoughts about this book with other people so they will know this is a good book for them to read.

When you write a Customer Review, it is your way of showing your pleasure with the book. You tell others what you enjoyed, what or how the book is useful for you, or others.

The book is currently Number 2 on the Amazon Best Sellers Rank, in the Professional Development category, and you can help make it Number 1. That is why I ask for you to write a Customer Review.

If on the other hand, you are sorry you read this book, because of any reason, please write to me, at my personal email profesorbaker@gmail.com and let me know what you did not like. I promise you I will do everything in my power to improve the book, now, and in the second edition of the book also.

As you can see, your Customer Review is tremendously important. Again, if you enjoyed the book, I kindly ask you to write a Customer Review. It would be very helpful for me, and I thank you kindly in advance for your time, and for your generosity.

Remember, the book is absolutely FREE – No Cost – today and tomorrow.

Best regards,
Thomas

**

Book Description
Publication Date: May 13, 2013

“Written by an experienced teacher and author of 58 books, from a practical perspective. This book is for new teachers, experienced teachers, parents of English Language Learners worldwide, English Language Learners, and students from all disciplines with a need to know how students learn English in actual day to day practice.

This book provides an actionable answer to the question of “How Do Students Learn English?” In this book, the discovery method is applied to case studies and actual experience, in reality.

If encountering the topic for the first time, this is a clear and practical introduction to experiential Second Language Acquisition (SLA). It shows actual students and teachers grappling with SLA issues in an interdisciplinary manner. To do this, we “stand on the shoulders of giants” like Wittgenstein, Gass & Selinker.

Storytelling becomes the medium to illustrate SLA in action, without being heavy on explanation. This is an inductive, discovery approach to deep learning about SLA in action.

How a second language is acquired; whether English, French, Yu’pik, or Mapudungun is what the second language learner needs to know; whether in the USA, Canada, Singapore, China, Chile or any other location worldwide, we all need to find relevant answers to know why some learners are more successful than others. The book introduces in a warm, friendly, first-person, engaging fashion a range of fundamental concepts – such as SLA in adults and children, in formal and informal learning contexts, and in diverse sociocultural settings – and takes (in the tradition of Gass & Selinker) an interdisciplinary approach, encouraging students to consider SLA from linguistic, psychological, and social perspectives.”

Thank You…

About these ads

About profesorbaker

Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family.
This entry was posted in Connectivism, Culture, Education, Education Technology, EFL, Higher Education Teaching & Learning, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s